Last updated 21 March 2020

Part One

Part One

Series Episode Number: 436

World Premiere: Sat 30 Oct 1976 - 6:09pm GMT [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Thu 15 May 1980 - 5:30pm CDT [WTTW 11 Chicago]
Running Time: 21 minutes 13 seconds

11.80 Million (UK)

Chart Position: 15 () (UK)

Recorded on Tue 07 Sep 1976 in TC3

The Doctor answers a summons to return home to Gallifrey and races to prevent a tragedy as the outgoing Time Lord president prepares to announce his successor.

Characters hide uncredited
Doctor WhoTom Baker
The PresidentLlewellyn Rees
Chancellor GothBernard Horsfall
Castellan SpandrellGeorge Pravda
Cardinal BorusaAngus MacKay
The MasterPeter Pratt
Commentator RuncibleHugh Walters
Co ordinator EnginErik Chitty
Commander HilredDerek Seaton
Gold UsherMaurice Quick
Time LordJohn Dawson
Time LordMichael Bilton
(extra)Jim Delaney (uncredited)
(extra)Alf Coster (uncredited)
GuardHarry Fielder (uncredited)
(extra)Bryan Nolan (uncredited)
(extra)Christopher Woods (uncredited)
(extra)Garth Watkins (uncredited)
(extra)George Romanov (uncredited)
(extra)Geoffrey Witherick (uncredited)
(extra)James Linton (uncredited)
Time LordLeslie Bates (uncredited)
Time LordMichael Earl (uncredited)
(extra)Michael Lomax (uncredited)
(extra)Pat Gorman (uncredited)
Time LordReg Cranfield (uncredited)
(extra)Richard King (uncredited)
(extra)Ronald Mayor (uncredited)
(extra)Sonnie Willis (uncredited)
(extra)Steve Ismay (uncredited)
(extra)Terry Sartain (uncredited)
(extra)Walter Henry (uncredited)
(extra)Willy Bowman (uncredited)
Tannoy VoiceDerek Seaton
Tranagram VoiceHelen Blatch (uncredited)