Last updated 09 January 2020

The Snowmen

The Snowmen

Series Episode Number: 790

World Premiere: Tue 25 Dec 2012 - 5:14pm GMT [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Tue 25 Dec 2012 - 9:00pm EST [BBC America]
Running Time: 59 minutes 44 seconds

9.87 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 87 (UK)

Audience Share: 38.79% (UK)
Chart Position: 9 () (UK)

Christmas special. The Doctor turns his back on the universe after losing Amy and Rory, and lives a reclusive life in Victorian London. As Christmas approaches, he is drawn back into action by a trio of old friends and a plucky governess, and discovers an icy new threat to the world. Starring Matt Smith and Jenna Coleman, and guest starring Richard E Grant, with the voice of Ian McKellen.

Characters hide uncredited
The DoctorMatt Smith
ClaraJenna-Louise Coleman
Captain LatimerTom WardInfo
Doctor SimeonRichard E. GrantInfo
Madame VastraNeve McIntosh
Jenny FlintCatrin Stewart
Commander StraxDan Starkey
DigbyJoseph Darcey-Alden
FrancescaEllie Darcey-Alden
AliceLiz White
Uncle JoshJim Conway
WalterCameron Strefford
Walter's motherAnnabelle Dowler
Bob ChilcottBen Addis
GirlSophie Miller-Sheen
Lead WorkerDaniel HydeInfo
Voice of the SnowmanIan McKellen
Voice of the Ice GovernessJuliet Cadzow
Stunt double for ClaraAnnabel Canaven
Little BoyMax Furst (confirmed)Info
Passer ByLulu Gunnery (uncredited)
GroomOliver (uncredited)
Passer ByMelissa White (uncredited)
Passer BySamantha Jenkins (uncredited)
Passer ByWilliam Fisher (uncredited)
Passer ByMatt Crisp (uncredited)
Passer ByJodie Stinchcombe (uncredited)
Passer ByHolly Mcgowan Hayes (uncredited)
Passer ByTom Forrister (uncredited)
Passer ByAndy Watts (uncredited)
Passer ByJeremy L Bevan (uncredited)
Passer ByPippa Robinson (uncredited)
Passer ByRachel Balding (uncredited)
Passer ByElly Phillips (uncredited)
Passer ByTibulus Tyburn (uncredited)
Passer ByJohn Handcock (uncredited)
Passer ByCynthia Handcock (uncredited)
Passer ByKristina Lewis (uncredited)
Passer ByChristine Hilliard (uncredited)
Passer ByZillah Savage (uncredited)
Passer ByMarina Baibara (uncredited)
Passer ByTaylor Ayling (uncredited)
Passer ByChris Taylor (uncredited)
Passer ByMike Leach (uncredited)
Passer ByMatthew Watts (uncredited)
Child (extra)Harry Lewis (uncredited)
Child (extra)Jac Edmunds (uncredited)
PunterStephen Morgan (uncredited)
PunterAdam Davies-Sheenan (uncredited)
PunterMatt Henderson (uncredited)
PunterIan Massey (uncredited)
PunterShelby Williams (uncredited)
PunterJohn Herbert (uncredited)
PunterDan Gaisford (uncredited)
PunterJeremy L Bevan (uncredited)
PunterChris Taylor (uncredited)
PunterDavid Lloyd (uncredited)
Driving Double for StraxAndrew Burt (uncredited)
Generic DriverStephane Lelievre (uncredited)
Child (extra)Ellie Pirie (uncredited)
Child (extra)Travis Weeks (uncredited)
Child (extra)Ella Evans (uncredited)
Workman (Group A)Christopher Hutchings (uncredited)
Workman (Group A)Andy Wheeler (uncredited)
Workman (Group A)Richard Husband (uncredited)
Workman (Group B)Gwion Ap Rhisiart (uncredited)
Workman (Group B)Douglas Hilliard (uncredited)
Workman (Group B)Dan Gaisford (uncredited)
Workman (Group B)Stephen Morgan (uncredited)
Workman (Group B)Paul Dawkins (uncredited)
Workman (Group B)Craig Evans (uncredited)
Double for Dr SimeonAndrew Sweet (uncredited)
SheenanAdam Davies (uncredited)
Chris FosterChris Foster (uncredited)
Workman (Group A)Dominic Kynaston (uncredited)
GI Cab DriverStephane Lelievre (uncredited)
PilgrimHarry Burt (uncredited)
PilgrimRebecca Van Stein (uncredited)
PilgrimOlivia Alessandra (uncredited)
PilgrimSimon Carew (uncredited)
PilgrimCraig Walkley (uncredited)
PilgrimSean Oakes (uncredited)
Double for ClaraCharlotte Bolan (uncredited)
Pond HandErin Morgan (uncredited)
Burly FootmanJack Dowell (uncredited)
Burly FootmanPhilip West (uncredited)
Pond HandCharlie Marr (uncredited)
IG Stand inCatrin O'Neil (uncredited)
IG Stand inEdward Hincks (uncredited)
Double for Captain LatimerJason Clarke (uncredited)
Production Team include uncredited
WriterSteven Moffat
DirectorSaul Metzstein
ProducerMarcus Wilson
Executive ProducerSteven Moffat
Executive ProducerCaroline Skinner
Line ProducerDes Hughes
Script ProducerDenise Paul
Director of PhotographyStephan Pehrsson
Production DesignerMichael Pickwoad
EditorWilliam Oswald
Prosthetics Millennium FX
Special Effects Real SFX
Visual Effects The Mill
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Make-up DesignerBarbara Southcott
Costume DesignerHoward Burden
Sound RecordistDeian Llyr Humphreys
Production AccountantJeff Dunn
Post Production SupervisorNerys Davies
Production ExecutiveJulie Scott
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Title MusicRon Grainer
With thanks to BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Orchestrated byBen Foster
Mixed ByJake Jackson
Recorded byGerry O'Riordan
Stunt coordinatorCrispin Layfield
Stunt coordinatorGordon Seed
Stunt coordinatorJo McLarren
First Assistant DirectorNick Brown
Second Assistant DirectorHeddi-Joy Taylor-Welch
Third Assistant DirectorDelmi Thomas
Assistant DirectorDanielle Richards
Assistant DirectorGareth Jones
Location ManagerIwan Roberts
Unit ManagerMonty Till
Location AssistantIestyn Hampson-Jones
Production ManagerPhillipa Cole
Production CoordinatorClaire Hildred
Asst Production CoordinatorGabriella Ricci
Production SecretarySandra Cosfeld
Production AssistantRachel Vipond
Production AssistantSamantha Price
Asst Production AccountantRhys Evans
Assistant Script EditorJohn Phillips
Script SupervisorSteve Walker
Camera OperatorJoe Russell
Focus PullerJames Scott
Focus PullerJulius Ogden
GripGary Norman
Camera AssistantMeg De Koning
Camera AssistantSam Smithard
Camera AssistantEvelina Norgren
Assistant GripOwen Charnley
Sound Maintenance EngineerRoss Adams
Sound Maintenance EngineerChris Goding
GafferMark Hutchings
Best BoyStephen Slocombe
ElectricianBob Milton
ElectricianNick Powell
ElectricianGafin Riley
ElectricianGareth Sheldon
Supervising Art DirectorPaul Spriggs
Art DirectorAmy Pickwoad
Standby Art DirectorNandie Narishkin
Assistant Art DirectorRichard Hardy
Set DecoratorJoelle Rumbelow
Production BuyerAdrian Greenwood
Production BuyerHolly Thurman
Art Department CoordinatorDonna Shakesheff
Prop MasterPaul Smith
Prop ChargehandIan Griffin
Set DresserAustin J Curtis
Set DresserJayne Davies
Prop HandJamie Southcott
Standby PropsHelen Atherton
Standby PropsRob Brandon
Dressing PropsPaul Barnett
Dressing PropsMike Elkins
Dressing PropsJamie Farrell
Graphic ArtistChristina Tom
Graphic DesignerChris Lees
Petty Cash BuyerFlorence Tasker
Standby CarpenterWill Pope
Standby RiggerBryan Griffiths
Practical ElectricianChristian Davies
Props MakerPenny Howarth
Props MakerAlan Hardy
Props MakerJamie Thomas
Props DriverGareth Fox
Construction ManagerTerry Horle
Construction ChargehandDean Tucker
Senic ArtistJohn Pinkerton
Assistant Costume DesignerFraser Purfit
Costume SupervisorCarly Griffith
Costume AssistantKatarina Cappellazzi
Costume AssistantFlorence Chow
Costume AssistantGemma Evans
Make-Up ArtistKatie Lee
Make-Up ArtistElin Rhiannon
Make-Up ArtistVivienne Simpson
Casting AssociateAlice Purser
Assistant EditorBecky Trotman
Visual Effects EditorJoel Skinner
Dubbing MixerTim Ricketts
ADR EditorMatthew Cox
Dialogue EditorDarran Clement
Sound Effects EditorPaul Jefferies
Foley EditorJamie Talbutt
Graphics Peter Anderson Studio
Additional Visual Effects BBC Wales Visual Effects
Additional EditingMatthew Cannings
Online EditorGeraint Pari Huws
ColouristMick Vincent