Malorie Blackman

Last updated 07 March 2020

Production Credits
1 credit in
1 entry
Malorie Blackman
(this image appears for illustrative purposes only and no attempt is made to supersede any copyright attributed to it)

Malorie Blackman OBE

Born: Thursday 8th February 1962 (age: 62)


Malorie Blackman is a British writer who held the position of Children's Laureate from 2013 to 2015.

She primarily writes literature and television drama for children and young adults.

Blackman's first book was Not So Stupid, a collection of horror and science fiction stories for young adults, published in November 1990.

She has since written more than 60 children's books, including novels and short story collections, and also television scripts and a stage play.

Her work has won over 15 awards.

Blackman's television scripts include episodes of the long-running children's drama Byker Grove as well as television adaptations of her novels Whizziwig and Pig-Heart Boy.