Musical Musical Performances

Last updated 04 May 2015

Doctor Who: Doctor Who Prom (2010)

Doctor Who Prom (2010)

Performance Entry: 3

BBC Proms - Doctor Who Prom Part One
BBC Proms - Doctor Who Prom Part Two

Conductor: Ben Foster
Composer: Murray Gold

Starring: Arthur Darvill, Karen Gillan, Matt Smith

BBC Three (United Kingdom):
First Performed: Monday 6th September 2010
Running Time: 1 hour, 30 minutes

Average Audience: 0.55 Million   Average AI: 89

Doctor Who returns to the Proms with a new show hosted by the stars of the series - Karen Gillan (aka the Doctor's companion Amy Pond), Arthur Darvill (aka Rory Williams) and featuring a special guest appearance by Matt Smith (aka the Doctor).

The concert features Murray Gold's music for the television series, including his latest re-imagining of Ron Grainier's classic theme tune performed by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, the London Philharmonic Choir, soloists Yamit Mamo and Mark Chambers, and conducted by Ben Foster.

With exclusive behind-the-scenes access, specially-edited sequences from the most recent series, a host of monsters laying siege to the Royal Albert Hall and a new scene written especially for the Proms by Steven Moffat and featuring the Time Lord himself, this is an intergalactic musical adventure like no other.

Additional Details

Matt Smith and Karen Gillan host Doctor Who extravaganzas this weekend: Saturday 24 July, 7.30pm-c9.30pm and Sunday 25 July, 11am-c1pm.

Doctor Who returns to the BBC Proms for two family spectaculars, bursting with Daleks, Weeping Angels and of course, the famous TARDIS. The concerts will be hosted by stars from the current series – Karen Gillan (Amy Pond), Arthur Darvill (Rory Williams) and special guest Matt Smith (The Doctor).

The BBC National Orchestra of Wales, who record the soundtrack for the series, present a selection of intergalactic music – including Murray Gold’s music from the TV show, plus a selection of classical favourites including Wagner's Ride of the Valkyries, Mars from Holst's The Planets and Orff's Carmina Burnana.

Matt Smith says of the Doctor Who Proms: "Utterly nerve-wracking... I think that Murray Gold is incredible, totally incredibly – a genius – and to hear all that in the Royal Albert Hall will just be one of the most soaring experiences."

More than 1,000 standing tickets are released on the day and families are encouraged to come along and Prom for £5. Seated tickets are now returns only.

Doctor Who first came to the Proms in 2008 and the concert dedicated to the hit series proved to be one of the hottest tickets that season. This year the concert returns not once, but twice, as part of the BBC Proms rich programme of family-friendly events throughout the 2010 season. The Proms Plus events on Saturday 24 July give families the opportunity to learn to play the Doctor Who music, and also to learn about the series from the behind-the-scenes staff.

The concert programme can be viewed on the Proms website, providing full details of the concert, the performers' biographies and an interview with Matt Smith and Karen Gillan.

Live pictures will be available on the day.
Doctor Who Prom – Programme to include:

Murray Gold
Music from the Doctor Who series*

John Adams
Short Ride in a Fast Machine

The Planets – Mars

Carmina Burana – O Fortuna

The Ride of the Valkyries

Karen Gillan – host
Matt Smith – host
London Philharmonic Choir
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
*Ben Foster – conductor
Grant Llewellyn – conductor

The Doctor Who Prom on Saturday 24 July is broadcast live on BBC Radio 3 and recorded for broadcast in early September on BBC Three and BBC HD. It is audio-streamed live via the BBC Proms website at and available via the BBC iPlayer for on-demand listening for seven days after broadcast.

LinkCredit: BBC Press Office