Last updated 12 May 2015

Doctor Who: Doctor Who Prom (2008)

Doctor Who Prom (2008)

Story Number: 2
No of Episodes: 1

Writer: Russell T Davies
Director: Euros Lyn, Rhodri Huw

Starring: Freema Agyeman, Catherine Tate, David Tennant, Julian Bleach, Nicholas Briggs, Barnaby Edwards, Dan Starkey, Noel Clarke, Camille Coduri

BBC Radio 3 (United Kingdom):
First Broadcast: Sunday 27th July 2008
Running Time: 1 hour, 30 minutes

Doctor Who was honoured with its very own prom on 27th July 2008, with a lunchtime performance celebrating the work of composer Murray Gold interspersed with classic works such as Aaron Copeland's Fanfare for the Common Man and Sergey Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet. Music was performed by the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra with the London Philharmonic Choir, and the prom was presented by Freema Agyeman, with special appearances by Noel Clarke, Camille Coduri and Catherine Tate. There was also a special scene with David Tennant playing the Doctor composing Music of the Spheres.

It was broadcast by BBC Radio 3 on the day, and then broadcast on BBC One on the 1st January 2009.