Last updated 09 May 2015

Doctor Who: The Curse of the Black Spot

The Curse of the Black Spot

Story Number: 215
No of Episodes: 1

Writer: Steve Thompson
Director: Jeremy Webb
Executive Producer: Steven Moffat, Piers Wenger, Beth Willis

Starring: Matt Smith, Karen Gillan, Arthur Darvill, Hugh Bonneville, Lily Cole

BBC One (United Kingdom):
First Broadcast: Saturday 7th May 2011
Running Time: 44 minutes, 51 seconds

Average Audience: 7.85 Million   Average AI: 86

The TARDIS is marooned onboard a 17th-century pirate ship whose crew is being attacked by a mysterious and beautiful sea creature, as the time-travelling drama continues. Becalmed and beset by cabin fever, the pirates have numerous superstitious explanations for the Siren's appearance. The Doctor has other ideas but, as his theories are disproved and every plan of escape is thwarted, he must work to win the trust of the implacable Captain Avery and uncover the truth behind the pirates' supernatural fears � and he must work quickly, for some of his friends have already fallen under the Siren's spell..."