Last updated 26 November 2016

Doctor Who: The Metaphysical Engine, or What Quill Did

The Metaphysical Engine, or What Quill Did

Story Number: 7
No of Episodes: 1

Writer: Patrick Ness
Executive Producer: Brian Minchin, Steven Moffat, Patrick Ness
Director: Wayne Che Yip

Starring: Katherine Kelly, Greg Austin, Fady Elsayed, Sophie Hopkins, Vivian Oparah, Jordan Renzo, Pooky Quesnel, Chike Okonkwo

BBC Three (United Kingdom):
First Broadcast: Saturday 26th November 2016
Running Time: 44 minutes, 34 seconds

With the gang trapped in detention and out of the way, Miss Quill accepts Dorothea's astonishing offer: to help remove the Arn from her head, and to reclaim her freedom.

Alongside Ballon, an imprisoned shape-shifter, Miss Quill travels in a metaphysical engine and is taken to impossible, extraordinary and dangerous worlds, collecting materials in preparation for her life-changing procedure.

After an emotional encounter with her surgeon and a nearly-fatal operation, Miss Quill must find a way to return to Earth: transformed and ready for war.