Last updated 15 December 2018

Doctor Who: William Hartnell: The Original

William Hartnell: The Original

Story Number: 237
No of Episodes: 1

Director: Ian Smith

Starring: David Bradley, Jessica Carney, Peter Davison, Terrance Dicks, Mark Eden, Carole Ann Ford, Waris Hussein, Peter Purves, William Russell, Matt Smith

BBC2 (United Kingdom):
First Broadcast: Thursday 21st November 2013
Running Time: 5 minutes

The five-minute documentary on William Hartnell features rare archive footage and brand new interviews with many who worked with him, including Carole Ann Ford, Peter Purves and Waris Hussein as well as Matt Smith, Peter Davison and Hartnell's granddaughter, Jessica Carney.

It's a revealing and affectionate portrait of a much-loved actor and forms the perfect accompaniment to An Adventure in Space and Time.