Malcolm Clarke

Last updated 09 January 2020

Malcolm Clarke (1943-2003)
(this image appears for illustrative purposes only and no attempt is made to supersede any copyright attributed to it)

Malcolm Clarke

Born: Sunday 17th January 1943
Died: Thursday 11th December 2003 (age: 60)


Malcolm Clarke was a British composer and a member of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop for 25 years from 1969 to 1994.

He composed the incidental music for the 1972 Doctor Who serial The Sea Devils; only the second score that the workshop provided for the series. 

The Radiophonic Workshop was not commissioned to produce music again for Doctor Who until 1980. Clarke returned to the series to compose the music for the 1982 serial Earthshock, and continued to work on the series on a regular basis until 1986, composing the music for Enlightenment, Resurrection of the Daleks, The Twin Dilemma, Attack of the Cybermen and Terror of the Vervoids.

His most critically acclaimed work was probably 1976's radio piece August 4th 2026, based on a short story by Ray Bradbury.