Last updated 27 August 2023

Doctor Who: The Savages

The Savages

Story Number: 26 (AA)
No of Episodes: 4

Writer: Ian Stuart Black
Director: Christopher Barry
Producer: Innes Lloyd

Starring: William Hartnell, Peter Purves, Jackie Lane, Ewen Solon, Peter Thomas, Geoffrey Frederick, Frederick Jaeger, Robert Sidaway

BBC One (United Kingdom):
First Broadcast: Saturday 28th May 1966 - Saturday 18th June 1966
Running Time: 1 hour, 37 minutes, 18 seconds

Average Audience: 4.97 Million   Average AI: 48

Having arrived on a far-distant and seemingly idyllic world, the Doctor, Steven and Dodo discover that it hides a terrible secret: the apparently civilised Elders maintain their advanced society by draining off and transferring to themselves the life-force of a group of defenceless Savages. Outraged at this exploitation, the Doctor is seemingly helpless to prevent it when some of his own life-force is tapped by the Elders' leader, Jano (Frederick Jaeger). However, in the process, Jano also acquires some of the Doctor's attitudes and conscience. Turning against his own people, he enlists the help of the Savages to destroy the Elders' transference laboratory - a task with which the time travellers gladly assist.

Steven is asked by the Elders and the Savages to remain behind on the planet as their leader. He agrees to do so, and the Doctor and a tearful Dodo leave him to his new life.

Synopsis from Doctor Who: The First Doctor Handbook by David J. Howe, Mark Stammers and Stephen James Walker, reprinted with permission; further reproduction is not permitted. Available from Telos

Associated Products