Last updated 09 January 2020

Under the Lake

Series Episode Number: 816

World Premiere: Sat 3 Oct 2015 - 8:26pm BST [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Sat 3 Oct 2015 - 9:00pm EDT [BBC America]
Running Time: 43 minutes 20 seconds

5.63 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 84 (UK)

Audience Share: 22% (UK)
Chart Position: 22 (BARB Week Top 10 (channel)) (UK)

BBC programme page

When an Underwater Base comes under attack, the Doctor and Clara must save the frightened crew and defeat an impossible threat. But what is behind these terrifying events? And can they really be haunted by ghosts?

Production Team
WriterToby Whithouse
DirectorDaniel O'HaraInfo
ProducerDerek RitchieInfo
Executive ProducerSteven Moffat
Executive ProducerBrian Minchin
EditorWilliam Oswald
Production DesignerMichael Pickwoad
Director of PhotographyRichard StoddardInfo
Line ProducerTracie Simpson
Costume DesignerRay HolmanInfo
Make-up DesignerBarbara Southcott
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Visual Effects MILK
Special Effects Real SFX
Prosthetics Millennium FX
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Head of ProductionGordon Ronald
Post Production SupervisorNerys Davies
Production AccountantCeredig Parry
Sound RecordistDeian Llyr Humphreys
Stunt coordinatorCrispin Layfield
Stunt coordinatorGordon Seed
Stunt coordinatorJo McLaren
ChoreographerAilsa Berk
1st Asst DirectorScott Bates
2nd Asst DirectorDanielle Richards
3rd Asst DirectorGareth Jones
Assistant DirectorChris Thomas
Assistant DirectorNick Goolding
Unit DriverSean Evans
Unit DriverKyle Davies
Location ManagerNick Clark
Unit ManagerIestyn Hampson-Jones
Production ManagerJames Dehaviland
Production CoordinatorAdam Knopf
Assistant Production CoordinatorSandra Cosfeld
Production AssistantHannah Jones
Production AssistantJamie Shaw
Assistaint AccountantJustine Wooff
Art Department AccountantBethan Griffiths
BSL MonitorJean St. Clair
Script SupervisorNicki Coles
Script ExecutiveLindsey Alford
Script EditorNick Lambon
Camera OperatorMark McQuoid
Focus PullerJonathan Vidgen
Focus PullerSteve Rees
GripJohn Robinson
Camera AssistantCai Thompson
Camera AssistantMatthew Lepper
Camera AssistantScott Waller
Assistant GripSean Cronin
Sound Maintenance EngineerTom Shoring
Sound Maintenance EngineerChristopher Goding
GafferMark Hutchings
Best BoyAndrew Gardiner
ElectricianAndrew Williams
ElectricianBob Milton
ElectricianGareth Sheldon
ElectricianGawain Nash
ElectricianMatt Wilson
Supervising Art DirectorTristan Peatfield
Standby Art DirectorNick Murray
Set DecoratorAdrian Anscombe
Production BuyerSarah Frere
Prop BuyerMay Johnson
Prop BuyerVicki Male
DraughtspersonKartik Nagar
DraughtspersonUrsula Marshall
Prop MasterPaul Smith
Prop ChargehandKyle Belmont
Standby PropsLiam Collins
Standby PropsIan Davies
Prop HandScott Howe
Prop HandNigel Magni
Prop HandMatt Watts
StoremanJamie Southcott
Concept ArtistChris Lees
Graphic ArtistMatthew Clark
Storyboard ArtistMike Collins
Standby CarpenterPaul Jones
RiggingShadow Scaffolding
Practical ElectricianChristian Davies
Practical ElectricianAustin Curtis
Props MakerAlan Hardy
Props MakerJamie Thomas
Props MakerPaul Lynch
Props MakerJamie Farrell
Props DriverGareth Fox
Construction ManagerTerry Horle
Construction ChargehandDean Tucker
Chargehand CarpenterJohn Sinnott
CarpenterTim Burke
CarpenterLawrie Ferry
CarpenterMatt Ferry
CarpenterChris Daniels
CarpenterJulian Tucker
CarpenterGeorge Rees
CarpenterBen Berrow
CarpenterKeith Richards
CarpenterAlan Jones
CarpenterCampbell Fraser
Construction DriverJonathan Tylke
Head Senic ArtistClive Clarke
Senic PainterSteve Nelms
Senic PainterMatt Weston
Senic PainterPaul Murray
Assistaint Costume DesignerGeorgie Sayer
Costume SupervisorSimon Marks
Costume AssistantAndie Mear
Costume AssistantIan Fowler
Costume AssistantJennie Tindle
Make-Up SupervisorSara Angharad
Make-Up ArtistMegan Bowes
Make-Up ArtistJames Spinks
Unit MedicGlyn Evans
Casting AssociateAlice Purser
Assistant EditorBecky Trotman
VFX EditorDan Rawlings
Post Production CoordinatorSamantha Price
Dubbing MixerMark Ferda
ADR EditorMatthew Cox
Dialogue EditorDarran Clement
Effects EditorHarry Barnes
Foley EditorJamie Talbutt
Foley ArtistJulie Ankerson
Titles BBC Wales Graphics
Titles ConceptBilly Hanshaw
Online EditorGeraint Pari Hughes
ColouristGareth Spensley
Conducted ByBen Foster
Orchestrated byBen Foster
Mixed ByJake Jackson
Recorded byGerry O'Riordan
Title MusicRon Grainer
Music performed by BBC National Orchestra of Wales