Last updated 09 January 2020

The Witch's Familiar

Series Episode Number: 815

World Premiere: Sat 26 Sep 2015 - 7:45pm BST [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Sat 26 Sep 2015 - 9:00pm EDT [BBC America]
Running Time: 47 minutes 50 seconds

5.71 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 83 (UK)

Audience Share: 22.9% (UK)
Chart Position: 24 (BARB Week Top 30 Chart) (UK)

BBC Programme Page

Trapped and alone on the terrifying planet Skaro, the Doctor is at the heart of the evil Dalek Empire - no sonic, no TARDIS, nobody to help. With his greatest temptation before him, can the Doctor resist? And will there be mercy?
A copy of the script is available from the BBC Writers Room.

Production Team include uncredited
WriterSteven Moffat
DirectorHettie MacDonald
ProducerPeter Bennett
Executive ProducerSteven Moffat
Executive ProducerBrian Minchin
Special Effects Real SFX
Prosthetics Millennium FX
EditorSelina MacArthur
Production DesignerMichael Pickwoad
Director of PhotographyAli Asad
Line ProducerTracie Simpson
Production AccountantCeredig Parry
Sound RecordistDeian Llyr Humphreys
Costume DesignerRay Holman
Make-up DesignerBarbara Southcott
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Visual Effects MILK
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Head of ProductionGordon Ronald
Post Production SupervisorSamantha Price
Stunt coordinatorCrispin Layfield
Stunt coordinatorGordon Seed
1st Asst DirectorDan Mumford
2nd Asst DirectorJames Dehaviland
3rd Asst DirectorDanielle Richards
Assistant DirectorGareth Jones
Assistant DirectorChris Thomas
Unit DriverSean Evans
Orchestrated byBen Foster
Unit DriverKyle Davies
Location ManagerIwan Roberts
Unit ManagerIestyn Hampson-Jones
Production ManagerAdam Knopf
Production CoordinatorSandra Cosfeld
Production SecretaryHannah Jones
Production AssistantSion Crowle
Production AssistantJamie Shaw
Original CreatorTerry Nation
Assistaint AccountantJustine Wooff
Art Department AccountantBethan Griffiths
Script SupervisorNicki Coles
Script ExecutiveLindsey Alford
Script EditorDavid P Davis
Camera OperatorMark McQuoid
2nd Camera OperatorSteve Rees
Focus PullerJonathan Vidgen
Focus PullerMatthew Lepper
GripJohn Robinson
Camera AssistantCai Thompson
Camera AssistantScott Waller
Assistant GripSean Cronin
Sound Maintenance EngineerTom Shoring
Sound Maintenance EngineerChristopher Goding
GafferMark Hutchings
Best BoyAndrew Gardiner
ElectricianAndrew Williams
ElectricianBob Milton
ElectricianGareth Sheldon
ElectricianGawain Nash
ElectricianMatt Wilson
Supervising Art DirectorTristan Peatfield
Supervising Art DirectorDafydd Shurmer
Standby Art DirectorJulia Challis
Set DecoratorAdrian Anscombe
Production BuyerSarah Frere
Prop BuyerMay Johnson
Prop BuyerVicki Male
Prop BuyerRosy Pearce
DraughtspersonKartik Nagar
Prop MasterPaul Smith
Prop ChargehandKyle Belmont
Standby PropsLiam Collins
Standby PropsIan Davies
Prop HandScott Howe
Prop HandNigel Magni
Prop HandMatt Watts
StoremanJamie Southcott
Concept ArtistChris Lees
Graphic ArtistMatthew Clark
Motion GraphicsTom Munday
Storyboard ArtistMike Collins
Standby CarpenterPaul Jones
RiggingShadow Scaffolding
Practical ElectricianChristian Davies
Practical ElectricianAustin Curtis
Props MakerAlan Hardy
Props MakerJamie Thomas
Props DriverGareth Fox
Construction ManagerTerry Horle
Construction ChargehandDean Tucker
Chargehand CarpenterJohn Sinnott
CarpenterTim Burke
CarpenterLawrie Ferry
CarpenterMatt Ferry
CarpenterChris Daniels
CarpenterJulian Tucker
CarpenterGeorge Rees
CarpenterBen Berrow
CarpenterKeith Richards
CarpenterCampbell Fraser
Construction DriverJonathan Tylke
Head Senic ArtistClive Clarke
Senic PainterSteve Nelms
Senic PainterMatt Weston
Senic PainterPaul Murray
Assistaint Costume DesignerGeorgie Sayer
Costume SupervisorSimon Marks
Costume AssistantAndie Mear
Costume AssistantIan Fowler
Costume AssistantJennie Tindle
Make-Up SupervisorSara Angharad
Make-Up ArtistMegan Bowes
Make-Up ArtistJames Spinks
Unit MedicGlyn Evans
Casting AssociateAlice Purser
Assistant EditorBecky Trotman
Assistant EditorSteven Waltham
VFX EditorDan Rawlings
Dubbing MixerTim Ricketts
ADR EditorMatthew Cox
Dialogue EditorDarran Clement
Effects EditorHarry Barnes
Foley EditorJamie Talbutt
Foley ArtistJulie Ankerson
Titles BBC Wales Graphics
Titles ConceptBilly Hanshaw
Online EditorGeraint Pari Hughes
ColouristGareth Spensley
Mixed ByJake Jackson
Recorded byGerry O'Riordan
Title MusicRon Grainer
With thanks to BBC National Orchestra of Wales
With thanks to Sur-Film Production
With thanks toServices DL
Daleks created byTerry Nation