Last updated 23 March 2024

The Impossible Planet

Series Episode Number: 718

World Premiere: Sat 3 Jun 2006 - 7:00pm BST [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Fri 17 Nov 2006 - 8:00pm EST [SyFy: East Coast Feed]
Running Time: 45 minutes 20 seconds

6.32 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 85 (UK)

Audience Share: 41% (UK)
Chart Position: 18 () (UK)

Recorded on Tue 28 Feb 2006 in Unit Q2 at these locations

The Doctor and Rose land in a base on an 'impossible planet'. But the TARDIS is missing, there's a killer in the base, and who are the Ood?

Production Team include uncredited
WriterMatt Jones
DirectorJames Strong
ProducerPhil Collinson
Executive ProducerRussell T Davies
Executive ProducerJulie Gardner
Production ManagerTracie Simpson
Director of PhotographyErnie Vincze BSC
Production DesignerEdward Thomas
EditorMike Jones
ProstheticsNeill Gorton
Prosthetics Millennium FX
Special Effects Any Effects
Visual Effects DesignerDave Houghton
Visual Effects DesignerWill Cohen
Visual Effects Designer The Mill
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Make-up DesignerSheelagh Wells
Costume DesignerLouise Page
Sound RecordistRichard Dyer
Production AccountantEndaf Emyr Williams
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Title MusicRon Grainer
With thanks to BBC National Orchestra of Wales
First Assistant DirectorGareth Williams
Second Assistant DirectorSteffan Morris
Third Assistant DirectorLynsey Muir
Location ManagerLowri Thomas
Location ManagerGareth Skelding
Unit ManagerRhys Griffiths
Production CoordinatorJess van Niekerk
Production/Script SecretaryClaire Roberts
Production RunnerVictoria Wheel
A/Production AccountantDebi Griffiths
A/Production AccountantKath Blackman
ContinuityNon Eleri Hughes
Script EditorSimon Winstone
Camera OperatorJamie Harcourt
Focus PullerTerry Bartlett
GripJohn Robinson
Boom OperatorJeff Welch
Boom OperatorRhydian Yeoman
GafferMark Hutchings
Best BoyPeter Chester
Stunt coordinatorBill Davey
Supervising Art DirectorStephen Nicholas
Art Dept Production ManagerJonathan Marquand Allison
Standby Art DirectorArwel Wyn Jones
Asst Supervising Art DirectorJames North
Design AssistantPeter McKinstry
Design AssistantIan Bunting
Design AssistantAl Roberts
Standby PropsPhil Shellard
Standby PropsLaurie Guinee
Set DecoratorTim Dickel
Property MasterAdrian Anscombe
Production BuyerCatherine Samuel
Assistant Props MasterPaul Aitken
Art Department CoordinatorMatthew North
Props ChargehandPhil Lyons
Props StoremanStuart Wooddisse
Specialist Prop MakerMark Cordory
Prop MakerPenny Howarth
Construction ManagerMatthew Hywel-Davies
Construction ChargehandAllen Jones
Storyboard ArtistShaun Williams
Graphics BBC Wales Graphics
Costume SupervisorAnna Lau
Costume AssistantLindsay Bonaccorsi
Costume AssistantKirsty Wilkinson
Make-Up ArtistAnwen Davies
Make-Up ArtistSteve Smith
Make-Up ArtistMoira Thomson
Prosthetics SupervisorRob Mayor
Prosthetics TechnicianJo Glover
Prosthetics TechnicianMartin Rezard
Online EditorMatthew Clarke
ColouristMick Vincent
3D ArtistWill Pryor
3D ArtistMark Wallman
3D ArtistMatt McKinney
3D ArtistSerena Cacciato
3D ArtistChris Petts
3D ArtistChris Tucker
3D ArtistPaul Burton
3D ArtistNick Webber
3D ArtistJean-Claude Deguara
3D ArtistJean-Yves Audouard
3D ArtistNicolas Hernandez
3D ArtistNeil Roche
3D ArtistAdam Burnett
2D ArtistSimon C Holden
2D ArtistSara Bennett
2D ArtistMichael Harrison
2D ArtistBronwyn Edwards
2D ArtistJoseph Courtis
2D ArtistMelissa Butler-Adams
2D ArtistRussell Horth
2D ArtistSandra Roach
Digital Matte ArtistAlex Fort
Digital Matte ArtistIlyas Kaduji
Visual Effects CoordinatorKim Phelan
Casting AssociateAndy Brierley
Assistant EditorCeres Doyle
Assistant EditorMatt Mullins
Post Production SupervisorSamantha Hall
Post Production SupervisorChris Blatchford
Post Production CoordinatorMarie Brown
Model Unit SupervisorMike Tucker
Dubbing MixerTim Ricketts
Sound EditorPaul McFadden
Sound EditorDoug Sinclair
Sound FX EditorPaul Jefferies
Finance ManagerRichard Pugsley
with thanks to Canadian Broadcasting Corporation