Last updated 23 March 2024

Twice Upon A Time

Series Episode Number: 840

World Premiere: Mon 25 Dec 2017 - 5:28pm GMT [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Mon 25 Dec 2017 - 9:00pm EST [BBC America]
Running Time: 59 minutes 50 seconds

7.92 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 81 (UK)

Audience Share: 34% (UK)
Chart Position: 9 (BARB Week Top 30 Chart) (UK)

Two Doctors stranded in an Arctic snowscape, refusing to face regeneration. Enchanted glass people, stealing their victims from frozen time. And a World War One captain destined to die on the battlefield, but taken from the trenches to play his part in the Doctor's story. 

An uplifting new tale about the power of hope in humanity’s darkest hours, Twice Upon A Time marks the end of an era. But as the Doctor must face his past to decide his future, his journey is only just beginning...

Production Team include uncredited
WriterSteven Moffat
DirectorRachel Talalay
ProducerPeter Bennett
Executive ProducerSteven Moffat
Executive ProducerBrian Minchin
EditorWill Oswald
Production DesignerMichael Pickwoad
Director of PhotographyRichard Stoddard
Line ProducerSteffan Morris
Sound RecordistGareth Meirion Thomas
Costume DesignerHayley Nebauer
Make-up DesignerBarbara Southcott
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Visual Effects MILK
Visual EffectsBBC Wales VFX
Special Effects Real SFX
Prosthetics Millennium FX
Music performed by BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Head of ProductionGordon Ronald
Production ExecutiveTracie Simpson
Post Production SupervisorSamantha Price
Production AccountantMaria Hurley
Stunt coordinatorCrispin Layfield
Stunt coordinatorDani Biernat
Wire SupervisorBob Schofield
1st Asst DirectorMark Hedges
2nd Asst DirectorJames Dehaviland
3rd Asst DirectorChristopher J Thomas
Assistant DirectorLauren Pate
Assistant DirectorKieran Hayhow
Unit DriverPaul Watkins
Unit DriverJolyon Davey
Location ManagerNicky James
Unit ManagerDavid Blayney
Production CoordinatorSandra Cosfeld
Assistant Production CoordinatorNicola Chance
Production AssistantTeeza Dvorakova
Production AssistantJamie Shaw
Assistaint AccountantBethan Griffiths
Assistaint AccountantMatthew Fisher
Script SupervisorNicki Coles
Script EditorNick Lambon
Camera OperatorMark McQuoid
Focus PullerJonathan Vidgen
Focus PullerElhein De Wet
Camera AssistantGethin Williams
Camera AssistantDrew Marsden
Camera AssistantDan Patounas
GripJohn Robinson
Assistant GripAsh Whitford
Sound Maintenance EngineerDafydd Parry
Sound Maintenance EngineerJames Abbay Bowes
GafferBen Purcell
Best BoyJohn Truckle
Best BoyMatt Grace
Best BoyJack Crew
Best BoyOwen Hashimi
Best BoyPeter Scott
Supervising Art DirectorMartin Boddison
Art DirectorTim Overson
Standby Art DirectorNick Murray
Set DecoratorAdrian Anscombe
Production BuyerSarah Frere
Petty Cash BuyerJen Saguaro
DraughtsmanMatt Sanders
Storyboard ArtistMike Collins
Props MasterPaul Smith
Props ChargehandKyle Belmont
Standby PropsJonathan Barclay
Standby PropsRyan Milton
Prop HandScott Howe
Prop HandNigel Magni
Prop HandMatt Watts
StoremanJamie Southcott
Graphic ArtistSam Lamont
Graphic AssistantJack Bowes
Standby CarpenterJamie Farrell
RiggingShadow Scaffolding
Standby RiggerColin Toms
Standby RiggerThomas Williams
Practical ElectricianCallum Alexander
Practical ElectricianAustin Curtis
Props DriverGareth Fox
Construction ManagerTerry Horle
Construction ChargehandDean Tucker
Chargehand CarpenterJohn Sinnott
CarpenterChris Daniels
CarpenterCampbell Fraser
CarpenterDan Berrow
CarpenterJeremy Cohen
CarpenterJoe Painter
CarpenterMark Painter
CarpenterMatt Ferry
CarpenterGeorge Rees
CarpenterTom Berrow
CarpenterTim Burke
CarpenterJonathan Tylke
Construction DriverBarran Bousie
Construction LabourerJason Tylke
Head Scenic ArtistClive Clarke
Scenic ArtistTara McCourt
PainterSteve Nelms
PainterPaul Murray
Assistant Costume DesginerGayle Playford
Costume SupervisorGayle Woodsend
Costume AssistantRebecca Cunningham
Costume AssistantJessica Lennon
Costume AssistantChloe Henderson
Make-Up SupervisorJames Spinks
Make-Up ArtistDerek Lloyd
Make-Up ArtistCathy Davies
Unit MedicGlyn Evans
Casting AssociateRi McDaid-Owen
Casting AssistantLouis Constantine
Business Affairs ExecutiveCarol Griggs
Brand Account ManagerEdward Russell
Additional EditorBecky Trotman
Assistant EditorDavid Davies
VFX EditorDan Rawlings
Post Production CoordinatorHannah Jones
Dubbing MixerMark Ferda
ADR EditorMatthew Cox
Dialogue EditorDarran Clement
Effects EditorHarry Barnes
Foley EditorSimon Clement
Foley ArtistJulie Ankerson
Titles BBC Wales Graphics
Titles ConceptBilly Hanshaw
Online EditorGeraint Pari Hughes
Online EditorChristine Kelly
Assistant Online EditorDaniel Attwood
ColouristGareth Spensley
Conducted ByAlastair King
Orchestrated byAlastair King
Mixed ByJake Jackson
Recorded byGerry O'Riordan
Music Score AssistantJack Sugden
Title MusicRon Grainer
Writer (The Tenth Planet)Kit Pedler
Writer (The Tenth Planet)Gerry Davis