Last updated 23 March 2024

The Hungry Earth

Series Episode Number: 764

World Premiere: Sat 22 May 2010 - 6:18pm BST [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Sat 21 May 2011 - 11:00pm MDT [Idaho Public Television]
Running Time: 42 minutes 50 seconds

6.49 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 86 (UK)

Audience Share: 39.79% (UK)
Chart Position: 19 () (UK)

Recorded on Tue 20 Oct 2009 in Upper Boat Studios at these locations
Archive State: HD

The reptilian Silurians are the former rulers of Earth. A drilling project awakens them - and now they want their planet back!

Production Team
WriterChris Chibnall
DirectorAshley Way
ProducerPeter Bennett
Executive ProducerSteven Moffat
Executive ProducerPiers Wenger
Executive ProducerBeth Willis
Line ProducerPatrick Schweitzer
Director of PhotographyMark Waters
Production DesignerEdward Thomas
EditorDavid Barrett
Prosthetics Millennium FX
Special Effects Real SFX
Visual Effects The Mill
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Make-up DesignerBarbara Southcott
Costume DesignerRay Holman
Sound RecordistBryn Thomas
Production AccountantCeri Tothill
Production ExecutiveJulie Scott
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Title MusicRon Grainer
With thanks to BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Conducted ByBen Foster
Orchestrated byBen Foster
Mixed ByJake Jackson
Recorded byGerry O'Riordan
First Assistant DirectorMarcus Catlin
Second Assistant DirectorJames Dehaviland
Third Assistant DirectorHeddi-Joy Taylor-Welch
RunnerNicola Eynon Price
RunnerLaura Jenkins
Location ManagerGareth Skelding
Location ManagerChristian Reynish
Unit ManagerRhys Griffiths
Production ManagerSteffan Morris
Production CoordinatorJess van Niekerk
Production Management AssistantClaire Thomas
Production RunnerSian Warrilow
Asst Production AccountantCarole Wakefield
Script EditorLindsey Alford
ContinuityNon Eleri Hughes
Camera OperatorIan Adrian
Focus PullerSteve Rees
Focus PullerMatthew Poynter
GripJohn Robinson
Camera AssistantTom Hartley
Camera AssistantJon Vidgen
Camera TraineeDarren Chesney
Boom OperatorDafydd Parry
Sound Maintenance EngineerJeff Welch
GafferMark Hutchings
Best BoyPeter Chester
ElectricianBen Griffiths
ElectricianStephen Slocombe
ElectricianBob Milton
ElectricianAlan Tippets
Stunt coordinatorCrispin Layfield
Supervising Art DirectorStephen Nicholas
Art Department CoordinatorAmy Pope Oakes
Production BuyerBen Morris
Set DecoratorJulian Luxton
Props BuyerAdrian Anscombe
Standby Art DirectorArwel Wyn Jones
Set DesignerRhys Jarman
Storyboard ArtistJames Iles
Concept ArtistRichard Shaun Williams
Concept ArtistPeter McKinstry
Standby PropsPhil Shellard
Standby PropsTom Evans
Standby CarpenterWill Pope
Standby RiggerKeith Freeman
Standby PainterEllen Woods
Props MasterPaul Aitken
Props ChargehandMatt Wild
Dressing PropsMartin Broadbent
Dressing PropsRhys Jones
Art Department DriverTom Belton
Props MakerPenny Howarth
Props MakerNicholas Robatto
Practical ElectricianAlbert James
Construction ManagerMatthew Hywel-Davies
Construction ChargehandScott Fisher
Graphics BBC Wales Graphics
Title Sequence Framestore
Costume SupervisorLindsay Bonaccorsi
Costume AssistantSara Morgan
Costume AssistantMaria Franchi
Costume TraineeNikki Lightfoot
Make-Up SupervisorPam Mullins
Make-Up ArtistAbi Brotherton
Make-Up ArtistMorag Smith
Casting AssociateAndy Brierley
Casting AssociateAlice Purser
Assistant EditorBecky Trotman
Visual Effects EditorCat Gregory
Post Production SupervisorChris Blatchford
Post Production SupervisorCeres Doyle
Post Production CoordinatorMarie Brown
Dubbing MixerTim Ricketts
Sound SupervisorPaul McFadden
Dialogue EditorDarran Clement
Sound Effects EditorPaul Jefferies
ColouristMick Vincent
Online ConformMatthew Clarke
Online ConformMark Bright