Last updated 23 March 2024

The Day of The Doctor

Series Episode Number: 799

World Premiere: Sun 24 Nov 2013 - 3:50am +08 [BBC Entertainment (Asia)] (Asia Pacific)
First Broadcast: Sat 23 Nov 2013 - 7:50pm GMT [BBC One] (United Kingdom)
First Broadcast: Sat 23 Nov 2013 - 2:50pm EST [BBC America]
Running Time: 76 minutes 44 seconds

12.80 Million (UK)

Appreciation Index: 88 (UK)

Audience Share: 40.9% (UK)
Chart Position: 1 () (UK)

BBC Store

Matt Smith and David Tennant star in the 50th anniversary special, as a mystery at the national gallery in the present day and an invasion of shape-shifting aliens in Elizabethan times bring two incarnations of the time lord together. A greater crisis looms with the arrival of a mysterious third Doctor, who is facing a battle for the fate of the universe and the most terrible decision of his many lives. With Jenna Coleman, and guest starring John Hurt, Billie Piper and Joanna Page.

Characters include uncredited
The DoctorMatt Smith
The DoctorDavid Tennant
The DoctorChristopher Eccleston
The War DoctorJohn Hurt
The DoctorPaul McGann
The DoctorSylvester McCoy
The DoctorColin Baker
The DoctorPeter Davison
The DoctorTom Baker
The DoctorJon Pertwee
The DoctorPatrick Troughton
The DoctorWilliam Hartnell
ClaraJenna Coleman
RoseBillie PiperInfo
TomTristan Beint
Kate StewartJemma Redgrave
OsgoodIngrid OliverInfo
Time Lord SoldierChristopher Finch
AndrogarPeter De Jersey
The GeneralKen BonesInfo
Arcadia FatherPhilip Buck
Time LordSophie Morgan-Price
Elizabeth IJoanna Page
Lord BenthamOrlando JamesInfo
McGuillopJonjo O'Neill
AtkinsTom Keller
ZygonAidan CookInfo
ZygonPaul Kasey
Dalek VoiceNicholas Briggs
Zygon VoiceNicholas Briggs
Dalek 1Barnaby Edwards
Dalek 2Nicholas Pegg
Voice Over ArtistJohn Guilor
Riding Double for Elizabeth IAnnabel Canaven
Motorbike Doubles for ClaraTracy Caudle
Motorbike Double for ClaraDani Biernat
Stunt Double for ClaraRob Hunt
Riding Double for The Tenth DoctorIan Van Temperley
Stunt Double for Time LordDavid Newton
StuntsChristian Knight
Double for Kate StewartSophie Morgan-Price
Production Team include uncredited
WriterSteven Moffat
DirectorNick Hurran
ProducerMarcus Wilson
Executive ProducerSteven Moffat
Executive ProducerFaith Penhale
Incidental MusicMurray Gold
Visual Effects Designer MILK
Visual Effects Designer BBC Wales Visual Effects
Special Effects Real SFX
Miniature Effects The Model Unit
Prosthetics Millennium FX
EditorLiana Del Giudice
Production DesignerMichael Pickwoad
Director of PhotographyNeville Kidd
Line ProducerDes Hughes
Original Theme MusicRon Grainer
Original Theme Arranged byDelia Derbyshire
Casting DirectorAndy Pryor CDG
Production ExecutiveJulie Scott
Script EditorRichard Cookson
Post Production SupervisorNerys Davies
Production AccountantJeff Dunn
Sound RecordistDeian Llyr Humphreys
Costume DesignerHoward Burden
Make-up DesignerLin Davie
Stunt coordinatorCrispin Layfield
Stunt coordinatorGordon Seed
Stunt coordinatorJo McLaren
First Assistant DirectorFay Selby
Second Assistant DirectorHeddi-Joy Taylor-Welch
Third Assistant DirectorMarie Devautour
Assistant DirectorGareth Jones
Assistant DirectorLouisa Cavell
Location ManagerIwan Roberts
Unit ManagerNick Clark
Production ManagerPhillipa Cole
Assistant Production CoordinatorSandra Cosfeld
Production SecretaryRachel Vipond
Production AssistantKatie Player
Assistant AccountantBethan Griffiths
Script SupervisorSteve Walker
Camera OperatorJoe Russell
Focus PullerJames Scott
Focus PullerJulius Ogden
GripGary Norman
Camera AssistantMeg De Koning
Camera AssistantChris Johnson
Camera AssistantCai Thompson
Assistant GripOwen Charnley
Stereo DITJay Patel
Stereo SupervisorAdam Sculthorpe
Stereo Rig TechJohn Perry
Stereo Rig TechDonald Eke
Sound Maintenance EngineerTam Shoring
Sound Maintenance EngineerChristopher Golding
GafferScott Napier
Best BoyColin Price
ElectricianJordan Brown
ElectricianGareth Crean
ElectricianJames Foy
ElectricianBill Harron
ElectricianThomas Rhoddi Moses
ElectricianAndrew Williams
Board OperatorJon Towler
Supervising Art DirectorPaul Spriggs
Standby Art DirectorJim McCallum
Set DecoratorAdrian Anscombe
Production BuyerSarah Frere
Petty Cash BuyerHelen O'Leary
Assistant Art DirectorRichard Hardy
DraughtsmanKartik Nagar
Prop MasterPaul Smith
Prop HandLaim Collins
Prop HandIan Davies
Set DresserIan Griffin
Set DresserMike Elkins
Set DresserJamie Farrell
StoremanJamie Southcott
Graphic DesignerChris Lees
Graphic ArtistChristina Tom
Standby CarpenterTim Jones
Standby RiggerBryan Griffiths
Practical ElectricianChristian Davies
Props MakerAlan Hardy
Props MakerJamie Thomas
Props DriverGareth Fox
Construction ManagerTerry Horle
Construction ChargehandDean Tucker
Senic ArtistClive Clark
Assistant Costume DesignerCarly Griffith
Costume SupervisorClaire Lynch
Costume AssistantKatarina Cappellazzi
Costume AssistantGemma Evans
Costume AssistantLauren Kilcar
Make-Up SupervisorSteve Williams
Make-Up ArtistKathryn Newsome
Make-Up ArtistJenny Jones
Make-Up ArtistClare Golds
Casting AssociateAlice Purser
Assistant EditorKatrina Aust
Visual Effects EditorJoel Skinner
Additional Visual EffectsBlue Bolt
Additional Visual Effects Jellyfish
Post Production CoordinatorSamantha Price
Stereo 3D ConsultantDavid Wigram
Dubbing MixerTim Ricketts
ADR EditorMatthew Cox
Dialogue EditorDarran Clement
Effects EditorPaul Jefferies
Foley EditorJamie Talbutt
Online EditorGeraint Pari Huws
ColouristMick Vincent
Daleks created byTerry Nation
Zygons created byRobert Banks Stewart
Cybermen created byKit Pedler
Cybermen created byGerry Davis
With thanks to BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Conducted ByBen Foster
Orchestrated byBen Foster
Mixed ByJake Jackson
Recorded byGerry O'Riordan